Reading for a Lifetime Together


Pi’s Life?
March 17, 2010, 2:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Piscine Molitor Patel is a teenage boy living in Pondicherry, India at the beginning of Life of Pi. I like how Piscine, or “Pi”, was named after a famous swimming pool even though his parents and his brother, Ravi, did not like swimming at all. Also, I find Pi’s practice of three religions, Hindu, Christianity, and Islam, very intriguing. Pi’s family owns the Pondicherry Zoo, so he has been around animals most of his life. I wish I could’ve grown up in a zoo. When PI is 16, His father decides to move his family and the zoo to Canada because of politics. I don’t ever want to move, especially move that far away. I think Canada would be drastically different from India.

The family and all of the animals are on the Tsimtsum, and then it sinks. I think the description of the boat sinking wasn’t detailed enough. Pi was thrown on a lifeboat, and ended up floating in the Pacific Ocean with a zebra, a hyena, and a Bengal tiger, Richard Parker. The hyena kills the zebra and the lion kills the hyena. I think Pi would’ve been more scared when animals were killing each other on the lifeboat. Pi makes a raft where he can stay far enough from Richard Parker, but he still fears death by tiger.

Pi tames Richard Parker a little, and Richard Parker doesn’t kill him. The two survive on the lifeboats supplies, the water from the stills, and any fish/turtles they catch. I would hate to be a vegetarian like Pi and then break that to survive. I don’t think I could ever be a vegetarian though. I also think it would be bad to lose my sight while in a life boat with a tiger. I think it was sad that when Pi ran into another lifeboat with a blind passenger, Richard Parker ate the other blind person. It would be even worse not to be able to only hear what happened.

I think the floating algae island sounds very interesting, although it actually seems pretty dangerous. I think Meerkats would be very cool to see. Pi should’ve tried to eat some of the dead fish in the ponds to regain his strength even faster. The island was a very good place for Pi to strengthen up and have something more to eat. I think poisonous acidic algae would scare me very much.

I didn’t like how the story stopped being very descriptive until Pi saw Mexico. I think the departure of Richard Parker from Pi’s life is also kind of depressing. I am undecided about knowing that Pi survived from the beginning. I think the author should’ve waited a little longer to reveal that, but then the entire story would’ve been different. The novel was somewhat unbelievable. Overall, I liked the novel a lot, but I don’t think I’ll read it again.

-Natalie

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment




Leave a Reply

