Reading for a Lifetime Together


Life of Pi
April 2, 2010, 2:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have to admit that when I first read this book, I thought of pie and got hungry. As soon as I got over my food craving and was able to read the book, I soon found out the strange history of Pi’s name. The story begins with a family that owns a zoo. I didn’t understand at the time, but a large portion of the beginning is Pi talking about the zoo and sloths. Sloths? This book seemed weird at first because I was reading about a zoo, but the only animal Pi seemed to focus on was a sloth. I continued, pushed along by my curiosity by where this slow sloth would lead me. It lead me into one of the best books I have ever read and one that I want to read over and over. Yann Martel’s Life of Pi was a book filled with ideas and wonders. Pi and his family are moving some animals on a ship, but there is a shipwreck and Pi and a few other animals make it onto a lifeboat. However, there is a tiger, Richard Parker, on the boat and he ends up eating all the animals except Pi. Pi and Richard have to learn how to survive together, or die. One part in the book that really stood out to me was when Pi and Richard stopped on an island. The island seemed normal during day, but at night, seemed to be carnivorous. The sand burned Pi and Richard’s feet and a tree was growing a full set of teeth! In the end, Pi and Richard find home despite all their troubles on the way. I loved and enjoyed this book so much that I recommend it to anyone. The beginning is a little slow, but worth the wait. Adventure awaits you!

–Catherine Young

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

