Reading for a Lifetime Together


Deadline By Chris Crutcher
April 5, 2010, 5:03 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Many people enjoy reading books that have that “I can’t stop reading this” mentality.  Deadline fits this criteria beautifully.  Deadline is about an 18-year-old boy from a small town in Idaho, who finds out that he has a terminal disease that will keep him alive for about a year.  The book portrays what happens to him in this final year of his life, his senior year of high school.  He does everything to keep this disease away from all of his friends and family by keeping it a secret, but he eventually regrets this decision at the end of the book.

I really enjoyed reading Deadline.  The story line was very interesting, entertaining, and even humorous at times, making me keep on reading.  I’m glad that Ben Wolf got to enjoy his last year of high school.  He dated his crush, became a football hero, embarrassed one of his teachers, and so much more.  If I were in Ben’s shoes, I wouldn’t have lived my last year the same.  I would have personally taken the treatment, because I would have been scared of death.  This book really seems to put a different view on life and special issues in particular.  It seems to be a great book to read whenever you need to find a meaning in life.  I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading, and likes an attention grabbing book.

Austin Pavlak

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

