Reading for a Lifetime Together


Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher
April 5, 2010, 3:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Th1rteen R3asons Why

I read this book a few months ago when I received it as a gift from one of my friends, who said it was an amazing novel. Excited about the story I held in my hands, I read it that night. I stayed up as late as my mom would allow, and then picked it up as soon as I woke up the next morning.

I finished by noon that day.

The book was a quick read for me, mostly because the story kept me very interested throughout, a hard thing for me to accomplish with most books. I loved the way Asher wrote this story. It tells the story of a boy who finds a box of tapes at his house. After listening to the first of 13 sides, he finds that he received the tapes from the girl he loved, who had committed suicide two weeks before. He finds that, according to her, he is one of the 13 reasons why she killed herself. Her stories take him throughout his small town, and reveal more about her life than anyone had ever known before. Asher took this story and made it a double-narrative (a favorite of mine); however, the girl’s stories affected the boy’s thoughts and actions–something I had never seen in a novel before. The interesting storyline made me never want to put the book down, even after I had finished.

-Morgan Munro

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I agree! This book was a really quick read for me too! It was really good and hard to put down. Although it was quite tragic, i enjoyed reading it.

Comment by Vondell Burns




Leave a Reply

