Reading for a Lifetime Together


Going Bovine
January 23, 2011, 6:16 am
Filed under: novel, young adult literature

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Cameron Smith contracts some ridiculous brain disease called Creutzfeldt–Jakob disease (actual disease) which causes him to eventually to go crazy and  become hospitalized. While in the hospital he starts hallucinating a story which he believes to be reality. From a magical garden gnome to a dimension traveling doctor this book only becomes stranger…

In all honesty this has to be the WORST book that I have ever had the displeasure of reading. For one thing the writing is supposed to be from the point of view of a teenage male but is written in the voice of a women trying to sound as if she were a teenage male.

While reading the book I often pondered to myself did the author herself or even her editor actually take the time to read this novel before it was published.

The only positive thing that I can say about this book is that while trying to convey that the main character Cameron was becoming increasingly insane as the book went on so did the writing. Not only the writing but the plot became more and more absurd. I understand that the author was trying to use this to add something to the story but when the subject of the book becomes so preposterous that I want to stop reading the book entirely there is definitely a problem with how it is written.

My final thoughts on the rubbish that  is the novel Going Bovine:

If someone where to ever ask me for a book to read and they required it to be a quick read and a complete waste of time, with out even blinking I would suggest to them GOING BOVINE.

– Daniel Giovanni Buxton (Class of 2013)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I think you’re being hard on this book. You have to “buy” the premise. I know I had trouble from time to time getting into the premise, but I still was rooting for the main character to beat the Devil, to live. I also liked the gnome-thing. I thought he was clever.

Comment by Ms. Bielong




Leave a Reply

