Reading for a Lifetime Together


If I stay by Gayle Forman
April 5, 2011, 2:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Gayle Forman wrote If I Stay and the setting for this story is mainly a hospital in Portland. Mia lives with her mother, father, and little brother, but she lives for playing the cello and her boyfriend Adam. One snow day, Mia and her family decide to drive to visit some family friends. They get into a car crash on the way to the friends’ house. Her parents die instantly. Mia and her brother survive the collision and are rushed to the nearest hospital. However, Mia is having an out-of-body experience and can see everything that is going on. Mia is flown to a hospital in Portland while her brother stays behind. When Mia arrives at the hospital, she undergoes many surgeries and learns of her little brother’s death. Now Mia has to decide whether to stay alive for her boyfriend and friends or to die and be with her family.

I read If I Stay  in one sitting. I just picked it up and read it cover to cover. One of my favorite things about If I Stay was how Forman showed the amount of time that had passed. The biggest problem I had with this book is that her little brother died. That made me so mad even though it would have ruined the plot of the story. If I Stay  is a good book to read if you want to enjoy a quick read.

Hannah Benson 4th Hour

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

