Reading for a Lifetime Together


If I Stay
April 6, 2011, 4:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

At the very begining of the story, Mia & her family decide to go out together for the day. There’s been all sorts of ice and snow, so the whole family gets in this tragic accident. Mia’s parents were both killed instantly by the crash, and Mia and her brother, Teddy, are in a coma. Initially, Mia thinks she’s perfectly fine, and then comes to realize that she is having an out of body experience while she’s in a coma. The story consists of this experience, along with various memories involving her family. This somber tale continues as her boyfriend is denied the priviledge of seeing her in the hospital, and her brother finally passes as well. Basically, this whole story was death, pain, reminiscence, loss, and the questioning of faith.

Honestly? I was not a fan of If I Stay at all! WhenI purchased it last summer, I was really excited to read it. RFL gave me the perfect excuse to read it, and now I am extremely disappointed. The story line and effect that the author was trying to achieve was admirable, but the whole time I felt as if there was something missing. Her words felt very empty. I don’t know that I would recommend this book, because a book with a missing piece is almost worse than a book that completely bombs. I’ll give it a 2 1/2 out of 5.

-Hannah Stinson

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

