Reading for a Lifetime Together


If I Stay By: Gayle Forman
April 6, 2011, 1:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

If I Stay is a book about a girl named Mia that ends up in a car accident that kills her mother, father, and little brother; Mia is the only survivor. Mia soon finds herself flown in a helicopter to the Portland hospital. She is in intensive care, and the doctors do not believe that she is going to make it. While Mia’s body is staying in the ICU her soul is wandering the halls of the hospital listening and watching her family and friends go to and from the hospital. Mia has the choice to stay in this world or travel to the unknown; she contemplates this as she remembers the memories of her life. Mia faces a tough decision; will she stay or will she choose to end her life.

I read this book in a matter of minutes it seems like. I loved it from the beginning to the end. At first I thought I would like the book because the book just seemed depressing from back to front, but I soon found out that I like the author’s style of writing. I like how Forman went back and forth from the present to the past. The only thing I did not like of the book was that at times it seemed kind of kiddy, but I soon overcame that within the first couple of pages.

Samantha Ormesher 4th hour

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

