Reading for a Lifetime Together


The Fault in Our Stars
April 2, 2013, 6:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hazel Grace Lancaster a 17-year-old girl diagnosed with Stage 4 Thyroid cancer. A natural introvert, Grace stays at home and just reads her favorite book, An Imperial Affliction by Peter van Houten. Then at her cancer support group, she meets the handsome, post-cancer, amputee: Augustus Waters. The two have instant chemistry because they both had battles with cancer. Then one day, Augustus reveals that by using his cancer Wish, he’s taking Hazel to Amsterdam to meet Peter van Houten. After learning this, Hazel confesses that she fell in love with Augustus, also called Gus, “…the same way you fall asleep: slowly at first, and then all at once.” But when both Hazel and Gus’s health take a turn for the worse, they will rely on each other and their love to get through it. 

Like previous comments have said, The Fault in Our Stars is a “chick-flick book.” Not that I’m complaining or anything, I love chick-flick books. But once you get over that initial fact and get down to what the author, John Green, is trying to tell you, this book is truly wonderful. One of my friends said that after reading this, he put it on his list of “books that will change your life.” I absolutely agree with this statement. Once I began reading, I couldn’t put it down. I related with this book in many ways: my grandmother had cancer, so I know what Hazel’s struggles are like and I have a boyfriend, so I know how Hazel feels when she said that she fell for Augustus. I believe everyone–young and old, men and women alike–could read and relate. 

–Anabel Gonzales 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

